History of WBCCI ARC

The Amateur Radio Club of the Wally Byam Caravan Club International is the sponsoring organization of the “International RV Service Net System.”

The Amateur Radio Club was formed in 1963 by Earl Johnston W0ICV, as the “Airstream Net”. At that time its membership consisted of hams who owned Airstream travel trailers and were members of the trailer club which was formed by and named after Wally Byam, the originator of the Airstream travel trailer. The club has in recent years reorganized and expanded its operations in order to serve all amateurs interested in Recreational Vehicles and in travel.

The Amateur Radio Club of the WBCCI is chartered under the Wally Byam Caravan Club International, Inc., as an “intra club”. The parent organization exercises no control over our operations as a radio club except during periods in which we provide our services at their official functions. The ARC has been approved by the IRS as a non-profit organization.

The purposes of the club are: (1) service to the public, (2) furtherance of public welfare by relaying messages via ham radio in time of need and emergency, (3) promotion of education and interest in the sciences of amateur radio, and (4) promotion of fellowship and goodwill among all radio amateurs and the public.

Desiring to include any hams who are interested in travel and camping and in providing much needed emergency public services in amateur radio fields, our Constitution and By-laws provide for inclusion of non-WBCCI member hams as Net Members in the radio club membership.

It is not necessary to own an Airstream or any other type of RV to enjoy the benefits of being a Net Member or to join the ARC. However, those who are members of the WBCCI are classified as Members.


Because of the sponsoring organization’s (Airstream Club/WBCCI) affiliation, we are limited in our Constitution to Members in the selection of club officers.   Otherwise, all Members and Net Members share equally in meetings, Ham-A-Rallys, Nets, and in the control and operation of these activities.

The club’s current president is Robert Bolling, KW4DT.

The club’s past presidents are:

  • 2022-2023 Roger Peoples, KD6FBF
  • 2021-2022 Jim Johnson, WW7N
  • 2020-2021 Bob Caldwell, VA6RV
  • 2019-2020 Don Williams, KD6UVT
  • 2018-2019 Jeff Dalrymple, N5YEI
  • 2017-2018 Steve Padgett, K4NM
  • 2016-2017 Bruce Fried, K5YXN
  • 2015-2016 Joel Ware, KD7QKK
  • 2014-2015 John Green, W9CJX
  • 2013-2014 Bob Simms, W7IRY
  • 2012-2013 Bob Simms, W7IRY
  • 2011-2012 Vaughn Peak, N7ODT (Silent Key)
  • 2010-2011 Jim Cocke, N5RTG
  • 2009-2010 Jim Zigrosser, N2MJC
  • 2008-2009 Elliott Steimle, WK3G (Silent Key)
  • 2007-2008 Warren Weinstock, KF6QGF
  • 2006-2007 Colin Campbell, W1CAC (Silent Key)
  • 2005-2006 Russell Thackery, W9RUS
  • 2004-2005 Joe Kolb, W4VL (Silent Key)
  • 2003-2004 Elliott Steimle, WK3G (Silent Key)
  • 2002-2003 Jack Mitchell, AA8Q
  • 2001-2002 “Woody” Wood, W1VYI (Silent Key)
  • 2000-2001 Fred Steurer, K0QMR
  • 1999-2000 Doug Showker, KC4JKQ (Silent Key)
  • 1998-1999 Everett Harrington, W1VMH (Silent Key)
  • 1997-1998 Wendell Sisk, N0JIB (Silent Key)
  • 1996-1997 Bill Specha, KC4PWR (Silent Key)
  • 1995-1996 Maurice Piroumian, WA6OPB (Silent Key)
  • 1994-1995 Bill Gosnell, W8HJH (Silent Key)
  • 1993-1994 Howard Anderson, K5TY (Silent Key)
  • 1992-1993 Dick Evans, K0DOJ (Silent Key)
  • 1991-1992 Earl Snyder, WA8AIU (Silent Key)
  • 1990-1991 Bert Hays, W0AZA (Silent Key)
  • 1989-1990 Warren Butler, AB4NO (Silent Key)
  • 1988-1989 Don Avery, K8OTN (Silent Key)
  • 1987-1988 Don Benham, KE4AG (Silent Key)
  • 1986-1987 Ken Eckley, KB6TL (Silent Key)
  • 1985-1986 Floyd Wray, WB4HMT (Silent Key)
  • 1984-1985 Marvin Dice, K9UBM (Silent Key)
  • 1983-1984 Berry Young, KC4WY (Silent Key)
  • 1982-1983 Marion Snyder, WB8MSE (Silent Key)
  • 1981-1982 R. F. Nelson, KB6PG (Silent Key)
  • 1980-1981 Elmer Sanders, W5HKJ (Silent Key)
  • 1979-1980 Taylor Shreve, W0CXW (Silent Key)
  • 1978-1979 Walt Grande, WB9OAA (Silent Key)
  • 1977-1978 Micholas “Rudy” Rudsil, W5VEH (Silent Key)
  • 1976-1977 Vern Madsen, WB8ISC (Silent Key)
  • 1975-1976 Hal Martin, W0EXN (Silent Key)
  • 1974-1975 Brodie Gilles, VE3JA (Silent Key)
  • 1973-1974 Walt Godwin, K4OZ (Silent Key)
  • 1972-1973 Ken Simpson, W8EK
  • 1971-1972 Dave Carpenter, W0DVZ (Silent Key)
  • 1970-1971 John Harlan, W6OST (Silent Key)
  • 1969-1970 Bob Thurman, W7HLD (Silent Key)
  • 1968-1969 Phil Rand, W1DBM (Silent Key)
  • 1966-1967 Warren Andrews, W3AM (Silent Key)
  • 1965-1966 Frank Taylor, W8AW (Silent Key)
  • 1964-1965 Frank Taylor, W8AW (Silent Key)
  • 1963-1964 Frank Taylor, W8AW (Silent Key)
  • 1962-1963 Earl N. Johnson, W0ICV (Silent Key)
Revised 2 July 2023 – Comments? Questions? Updates?